Aarhus University Seal / Aarhus Universitets segl


The core of the organisational structure is its sections, academic networks and various committees. The committees advise the management on the specialised area covered by the expertise of each committee, and the chairs of the various committees and the Section Managers act as sparring partners for the Department’s management.


The researchers at the Department of Bioscience are organised into a number of sections. The sections are units with a shared focus on a particular aspect of the field of biology, and the development, cultivation and coordination of the faculty’s research areas are anchored in the sections.

Honorary Associate Professors/Honorary Professors:

  • Honorary Professor, Hans Burchard, Leibniz Institut for Baltic Sea Research, University of Rostock, Oceanografi
  • Honorary Professor, Ursula Siebert, University of Veterinary Medicine Hannover, Foundation
  • Honorary Associate Professor, Loic Pellissier, ETH Zurich and Swiss Federal Institute for Forest, Snow and Landscape Research WSL
  • Honorary Associate Professor, Fred Johnson, U.S. Geological Survey
  • Honorary Professor, Andreas Kappler, University of Tübingen, Germany, Geomicrobiology
  • Honorary Associate Professor, Mark Johnson, Scottish Oceans Institute, Zoophysiology
  • Honorary Professor, Barbara F. Nowak, Australia's Institute for Maritime Education, Training and Research, University of Tasmania, Australia
  • Honorary Professor, Jürgen Tomiuk, University of Tübingen, Germany, Medical Genetics
  • Honorary Associate Professor, Thomas J. Simonsen, Natural History Museum Aarhus, Aarhus, Denmark, entomology
  • Honorary Associate Professor, Brody Steven Sandel, Department of Bioscience, Ecoinformatics and Biodiversity